There are 3 new releases in the August chart, including a new number 1.

Straight in at no. 1, is Gaz Bookfield’s 9th studio albumMorning Walking Club (Land Pirate). The album was written, recorded, produced and mixed by Brookfield in his own studio, and mastered by Jim Lang. Additional guitars by Chris Webb and Dan O’Dell, keys by Jon Buckett, and violin by Ben Wain. Of the album, Bookfield says “This album is an open and honest journey into some of the issues surrounding mental health struggles, and ultimately, hopefully, the journey out of them again. It is dedicated to my dearly departed dog, Reuben, the founding member of the morning walking club, and the goodest boy.”

At no. 3 is The Endless Coloured Ways – The Songs of Nick Drake (Chrysalis) by Various Artists. This compilation album of 23 songs, recorded by over 30 artists, is a tribute to legendary singer-songwriter, Nick Drake. In every song, the artist adopts and reworks an original song of Nick Drake as if it were their own. The album showcases folk artists, including Stick In The Wheel, Katherine Priddy, and Karine Polwart, in addition to a diverse array of prolific and notable artists from across the musical spectrum.

No. 22 is Conversations We’ve Had Before (Eliza Carthy) by Eliza Carthy Trio. Although Eliza has been playing alongside Saul for almost thirty years, the Trio was only formed in 2020 when another regular sidekick, Dave Delarre joined them. Together three of England’s best-known folk musicians arranged an exciting new set of traditional material which they honed on the road and recorded for this, their first album. Eliza says, “The Conversations referred to in the title reflect just how long it’s taken for us to find the perfect balance and get this done, but we found it…and here it is.”

See the full chart here


Our Partners

Join our mailing list

Folk fans Artists Music industry